Put a Pin In It: The Root of the Problem

I love eating vegetables, especially when prepared well, but I’ve noticed that there are certain sections of the produce department that I just walk right past without even looking. Since I’ve been trying to expand my vegetable repertoire, and because we’re going to be deciding what to plant in our new, bigger garden, I thought I should try all those vegetables I’ve never cooked before. You know, all the vegetables from that book I used to read to my kids.

eating the alphabet

I thought it was worth a try, just in case I find something I love as much as sweet potatoes. I’ve never found a sweet potato recipe I didn’t like, but I never really liked them until recently. If I could be converted so fully to yams, who knows what else is out there for me to love?

Maybe I should have spaced these out over several meals, but I had a deadline. That’s why, for dinner tonight, my family was served an assortment of roasted veggies and Red Lobster biscuits. They love the biscuits so much, I knew they couldn’t possibly revolt if everything else turned out to be awful.

Spaghetti Squash

I like most squashes (is that the plural for squash?), but for some reason, spaghetti squash seemed too complicated to try. That turned out to be a silly assumption, because it was easy peasy. I’m not sure I’m in love with the recipe I tried for Cheesy Garlic Parmesan Spinach Spaghetti Squash (try saying that with a lisp), but I do think I’ll try growing my own squash this year. Any suggestions for other recipes are appreciated.

Parsnips

Parsnips look a lot like pale, sickly carrots. Since I like carrots, I thought parsnips would be an easy transition. I chose to make Honey Roasted Parsnips because I prefer my cooked carrots with a sweet glaze. Unfortunately, there was a bitter aftertaste that I just couldn’t enjoy. My husband likes them a lot, but he also likes gross stinky olives, so take that into consideration.

Turnips

Maybe if I had known ahead of time that turnips are bitter, I would have chosen a recipe that didn’t include balsamic vinegar. Lesson learned, since my experience with this recipe was not a positive one. My husband didn’t like it either.

Rutabaga

I’ve noticed that a lot of recipes compare their weird vegetable to potatoes. Kind of a “tastes like chicken” for root vegetables. I had high hopes for this one, since I love my recipe for maple syrup roasted sweet potatoes, but I just couldn’t get past the bitter aftertaste. My husband (big surprise) liked it.

Radishes

I can’t stand raw radishes so I thought I’d see if I like them better cooked. I tried this recipe for Crispy Roasted Radishes, and although they weren’t really crispy, I did enjoy them much more than my previous radish experiences. Fritz was hesitant to try them, insisting that radishes are too spicy, but even he had to admit that they were pretty mild. Even our dog likes them.

Rhubarb

Okay, this isn’t really my first time eating or making rhubarb, but apparently my husband doesn’t hate it as much as I thought he did when we were first married, and apparently our rhubarb plant is exploding, and I really needed something coated in sugar and topped with whipped cream for dessert, so I made this Strawberry Rhubarb Crumb Bars. It’s not even cheating, because rhubarb is a vegetable. And it was delightful.

Now, if any of you have suggestions for how to cook eggplant and artichokes so that I finally like them, I need all the help I can get!

 

One thought on “Put a Pin In It: The Root of the Problem

  1. Eggplant: eggplant parmigianna and ratatouille- or just bbq’d. Artichokes: steam and dip in a mayonnaise lemon sauce (there are lots of recipes online). Artichokes are a time consuming veggie that take time to eat. Spaghetti squash- pair it up with your favorite red sauce or bolognese. Or I even like it plain with salt and pepper. There’s also a parmesan with bacon……..again- lots of great things online. Yum. I’m coming to your house for dinner lots this summer……….

Leave a Reply

