Falling With Style

We had a trampoline when I was a kid and I jumped on it all the time, but I don’t think I’ve been on one for probably 25 years. I’m all about safety, and it’s paid off in the lack of broken bones in our family. But sometimes I wonder if my kids are missing out on taking risks just because I’m too cautious.

Out of the blue a few weeks ago, I decided we needed an afternoon trip to Lowes Xtreme Airsports (a trampoline/trapeze/parkour/ninja warrior training camp), and I decided I wouldn’t just sit on the sidelines to watch. After signing five waivers and watching a video detailing all the ways we might possibly break our necks, we gave it a try. Aside from the initial dizziness from the trampoline, I didn’t have too much trouble returning after all these years. At one point, I looked at each of my boys with flushed, sweaty faces from playing so hard, and I realized it’s been a very long time since we all played together.

img_1545

I showed great restraint by not audibly gasping every time I saw a teenage boy flinging himself off walls and landing in precarious ways on trampolines because I didn’t want to scare Fritz out of trying new things. He was already refusing to try some activities because he was”a coward,” but with enough time gathering enough courage, he was loving it by the end. When I told him it was time to go, he didn’t fight me. He simply pressed me like a pushy salesman to commit to the exact day we would return. “So, should we come back every Monday? How about this Saturday? So, like once a week or twice a week?”

img_1537

He made big plans to return for his birthday and wouldn’t take off the wristband for days. A week later, we were talking about basketball. He mentioned a friend who’s better than he is and I said that’s ok because they’re a sports kind of family. Grub said, “Yeah, and we’re the music family.” Fritz said, “Well, the music family and the Lowes family.” He was so serious about returning, he somehow guilted the neighbors into letting him tag along when they went last weekend. He has found his happy place.

We played with the new slo-mo option on our camera and compiled our favorite falls into this very professional video. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

