After School Special

After two weeks of being a full-time mom every afternoon, I can now report that our lives are very different now. I know it might sound mundane, but to us these new developments are a big deal. After 18 years, I think it’s about time.

We have time to go to the library together every week. My boys get to choose their own books instead of being stuck with whatever I used to grab for them while they were in school. I even check out books for myself and I even have time to read them, a luxury usually only reserved for summer break.

I am now a soccer mom, I guess. I don’t know if it counts if I only have one kid playing twice a week and I read books whenever he’s not on the field. We used to stick to basketball because the practices were late enough in the evening and the games were all on Saturday. Other sports were pretty much impossible, especially soccer. So even though Fritz is still figuring it out and I don’t know enough to know what he still needs to learn (and I’m pretty sure he’s playing in baseball cleats), we’re pretty excited about it around here.

soccer

I get to help my kids with their homework and practicing now. I’ve been amazed at how much progress they make at the piano when I practice with them. For the first time ever, I’ve quizzed my child on spelling words. I’m aware of upcoming projects and deadlines. My kids are pretty independent and did a lot on their own, but it’s nice to feel I’m in the loop now.

One difference I’ve noticed is that it bothers me when Big O isn’t home. He’s really busy with extracurricular activities and work, so sometimes I only see him a few minutes before school, a few minutes as I drive him to work, and, if I’m still awake, a bit when he gets home at night. When I was teaching, I didn’t really notice how much he was gone because I was busy too. I liked that he was busy. Now I’m starting to resent it because now I miss him.

I enjoy cleaning now. I don’t understand it, and I don’t know if it will last forever, but for the first time in my life, I haven’t been seeing housework as drudgery. It’s like I’m a different person or something.

And here’s one of my favorite changes. For years, my kids have begged to get to take a cooking class. Last year, I asked around to different moms in the neighborhood to see if they’d be interested in making a little extra money by teaching a kids’ cooking class once a week, but there were no takers. As soon as Fritz heard I would be available after school, his greatest wish was for me to teach him how to cook. Then my two friends (and toilet papering partners) decided to join me and rotate teaching each week. Last week, Itzel taught them to make pretzels. Have you ever seen anything cuter?

This week I had them make ice cream sandwiches. Things got a little bit crazy by the end. Far too many giggles.

The original plan was to make homemade ice cream (Fritz’s current obsession) for the filling, but then I remembered that I should ease into this Super Mom stuff and just buy the ice cream.

I may not have it all figured out, but I think I’m going to like this new gig.

Leave a Reply

