Tempting Fate

I’m not superstitious, but maybe there’s something to the idea of not saying anything out loud that you don’t want to happen. You know, jinxing yourself, tempting fate – it’s just not a good idea.

bad luck

Saturday night, when I found out that the challenge I had planned for this week wasn’t going to work, I asked my husband to help me decide what to do instead. I listed a few options and then said, “Or I could learn how to change a tire. That’s been on my list from the start, and O needs to do it for driver’s ed anyway. Except I really don’t feel like doing that this week. It sounds like too much work and it’s too rainy.” So I decided to write about something else.

The next day, as we were driving to family’s house for dinner, what do you know?

IMG_3011

And then, even after the very thing we have to do anyway dropped right in our laps, even then I suggested just calling for roadside assistance. That’s just how fascinating I am. My husband pointed out how ridiculous that was, so we went to work.

IMG_3016.JPG

There was a bit of a learning curve because it was the first time we’d had to find the spare for this particular vehicle, but overall things went pretty smoothly.

IMG_3013

I’m not sure if I’d be able to do it again all by myself, but with guidance and a little extra muscle provided by my son, we got the job done in no time flat. (See what I did there?)

IMG_3017

I wonder what people thought as they drove by and saw three guys standing around watching the lone woman do the work. Or what they thought when they saw my two youngest boys passing the time by having a staring contest on the side of the freeway.

IMG_3021

We took the long way to our family’s house and arrived for dinner only an hour and a half late, but it was totally worth the wait (our wait, probably not theirs). We were pretty lucky to have our flat on one of the few sunny afternoons this month. And if it had to happen, at least I got a blog post out of it, right? And now that we had that one flat, we’ll probably never have to change another tire again…

knock on wood

Even though things worked out, I think that in the future I should make more of an effort to look on the bright side and never, ever dwell on the bad things that could happen. It’s a habit that will not only bring me more peace and happiness, but also keep away all that bad luck just waiting to pounce. 

Leave a Reply

