All My Eggs in One Basket

As I have demonstrated many times, I am not crafty and I really don’t care about making something pretty if you’re just going to eat it. So it should be no surprise to anyone that I don’t like decorating Easter eggs. I mean, sure, if I have to shell out $.97 for the mix just my kids can do it, fine. But I usually make my husband do the work of actually helping them decorate.

This week, my cousin posted this video of a cool way to dye Easter eggs using natural dyes, nylons, leaves and flowers to imprint the shape of the leaf or flower onto an egg. They were visually striking and the process looked simple enough even for me, so I decided to give it a try. This video suggested using red cabbage and yellow onion skin. A few other websites suggested other natural dyes, so I tried a bunch – some worked better than others. Aren’t you glad I went through the trial and error so you wouldn’t have to?

I have no flowers in my garden and it snowed yesterday, making it undesirable to go on a long walk in the woods looking for possible plants, so I just bought a cheap bouquet from the store. I was thrilled to have a good reason to use up some old nylons that should have been thrown away years ago (because who wears white nylons anymore?). To see if it made a difference, I included some hose-free eggs in each batch as well.

 

I made one batch with red cabbage:

IMG_2716

Another batch with yellow onion skin:

IMG_2717

Another with red onion skin:

IMG_2719

One batch with a few tablespoons of turmeric powder:

IMG_2720

And a batch with diced beets. As you can see, it was the most colorful from the start:

I brought each batch to a boil, then covered and simmered on low for 6 minutes, then removed from heat for 30 minutes, and refrigerated for 6 hours. As you can imagine, my fridge smelled just lovely. I removed the nylons and wiped each egg down with a paper towel.

The results were surprising. The red cabbage wasn’t nearly as bright as I expected it to be:

IMG_2729

The turmeric didn’t seep through the hose very well:

IMG_2730

The red onion was okay, but it was about the same color as the brown eggs we get from our neighbor:

IMG_2732

The beets were just disappointing. Talk about false advertising:

IMG_2727

These yellow onions, though. Check them out! Gorgeous color and a very clear imprint. I love them so much:

IMG_2724

They look pretty nice all together, don’t they? Almost too pretty to eat. Almost.

IMG_2734

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

