Put a Pin on It – Pie Time!

Pies are my favorite part of Thanksgiving but I have so many favorites it’s getting ridiculous. Some people may say that one pie per person is too many pies to serve for one dinner, but they obviously haven’t been faced with the challenge of narrowing down the list of front-runners.

This year, instead of facing reality and whittling down the number of pies, I decided to search for new favorites. I spent the last week trying new pie recipes each day and am ready to share my findings with you. (Notice that I did not share any of my pie. Sorry about that.)

big mouth

We also had a chance to try lots of other delicious pies at our friends’ annual pie night. Check out that spread, each one a masterpiece:

spread

Note: I’m extremely loyal to my pie crust recipe from Better Homes & Gardens so unless otherwise noted, it’s safe to assume I stuck with my own crust.

Also note: My photos are usually terrible but this week our friend Annalyn took these nice ones. They really class up this week’s post and make it actually look legit. Maybe I should drag her along to every blog challenge.

Not Too Shabby

Apple Pie Ice Cream Pie – This was pretty good but difficult to eat. I skipped the part about making the vanilla ice cream from scratch (as if) and I wish I had just bought caramel sauce instead of making it. The gingersnap crust was good, but if I ever make it again, I’ll half the recipe and leave out the salt. It was just too thick and hard to cut.

Blue Ribbon Pecan Pie – Pecan pie is one of my favorites but I have a hard time getting anyone else in my family to eat it. I thought maybe if I used a recipe other than the one on the back of the Karo syrup bottle, maybe it could make a difference. This pie was different, but not substantially. It was good – nothing too special – just your standard pecan pie.

pecan

Cream Puff Pie – This pie was a big hit, but it’s basically just my eclair cake recipe in pie form (and with fewer servings than my sheet cake). I didn’t bother making the chocolate sauce from scratch but the pie was quite delicious without it, light and refreshing.

cream puff pie

Don’t Bother

Creamsicle Pie – My youngest liked this one, but it’s just jello salad in a graham cracker crust.

creamsicle

Grapefruit Custard Pie – I had high hopes for this one but it was weird. Bitter in an almost chemical-tasting way.

Runner Up

Blueberry Sour Cream Pie – I served this to my family for breakfast. I used frozen berries and it was quite yummy. I’ll definitely make it again some time, but I’m afraid it just can’t beat the other top contenders for Thanksgiving.

New Favorites 

Lemon Sour Cream Pie – Heavenly. Just so, so good. Do yourself a favor and give it a try.

Banana Cream Pie– Oh, wow. So very, very good. My boys were all fighting over who would get to eat the last piece. This is so much better than my easy peasy banana cream pie recipe and totally worth the extra effort.

Caramel Cream Pie – Ok, I didn’t actually make this, but I did try it at pie night and fell in love. I will be making it soon. Very soon.

Fritz

My boys loved having Daily Pie and I loved having the time to try new recipes. There are still several I didn’t have time to make yet so maybe I should make a pie-centered advent calendar this year. That would make Christmas extra special, although if I go through with it, I should probably ask Santa for some elastic waist pants.

Leave a Reply

