Romantic Getaway for Six

Today’s our 19th wedding anniversary and we’re spending it in a minivan filled with our offspring driving the first nine hour leg of our giant cross-country road trip. There will be no date, no gifts, no flowers. There will be noise and stress and fun and singing and treats, which is a pretty accurate summary of our nineteen years of marriage.

The only way I could think to commemorate the occasion was to compile a playlist to help us get through at least one hour of the nine. There are nineteen songs, one from each year of our marriage. Some are completely new to us, some are family favorites, some are guilty pleasures, and many have great significance to us and have seen us through many, many road trips. (Anything not on Spotify didn’t make it on the list, otherwise I would have included Book on Tapeworm and Quiet House.)

Just a note, the Katy Perry song shows just how much I love him. I’m not sure where this newfound love of female empowerment ballads came from, and I hate the music video for the song so much that I couldn’t bring myself to link to it, but I will accept him for who he is. Also interesting to note: not many great songs came out in 1997. That was a terrible year for music.

Here’s our playlist. I hope you enjoy it. I hope he enjoys it, cause that’s all he’s getting this year. Also, please enjoy some of the photos from our 17th Anniversary Awkward Photo Shoot. Now that was a very good year.

IMG_0002 IMG_0005

Happy anniversary, Sweetums. I sure like being married to you. I would turn this into a drawn out metaphor about the long road we’ve traveled together and the road stretched out ahead of us, but I don’t want you to get car sick. NOBODY in this van had better get car sick, you hear me?

IMG_0004

1996  Killing Me Softly – The Fugees

1997  Calypso – Spiderbait

1998  Imaginary Love – Rufus Wainwright

1999  Canned Heat – Jamiroquai

2000  Everything in its Right Place – Radiohead

2001  Hovering Sombrero – They Might Be Giants

2002  River, Sea, Ocean – Badly Drawn Boy

2003  Where is the Love – Black Eyed Peas

2004  Such Great Heights – Postal Service

2005  Hide and Seek – Imogen Heap

2006  I Don’t Feel Like Dancin’ – Scissor Sisters

2007  Falling Slowly – Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova

2008  Wolves – Josh Ritter

2009  Home – Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes

2010  I Need a Dollar – Aloe Blacc

2011  Mountain Men – Erik the Red

2012  Somebody That I Used to Know – Gotye

2013  Roar – Katy Perry

2014  Time After Time – She & Him

2015  Then Came the Morning – The Lone Bellow

IMG

Leave a Reply

